TODAY.AZ / World news

Turkish president to appoint military commanders

10 July 2018 [13:56] - TODAY.AZ

By  Trend

The current President of Turkey Recep Tayyip Erdogan has been authorized to appoint colonels, brigadier generals and rear admirals of the Armed Forces in connection with the transition to the presidential form of government in Turkey according to the recent changes, Turkish "Resmi Gazete" newspaper reported July 10.

The first appointment is scheduled for August 30, 2018, the message says.

Today, the Land Forces Commander, General Yashar Guler was appointed to the vacant position of the Chief of the General Staff, as Army General Hulusi Akar has been appointed to the post of minister of defense of Turkey.

Yesterday, Turkish President Recep Tayyip Erdogan announced the new personal composition of the Cabinet of Ministers, which will be the first government of the country after the transition to a presidential form of government.

The post of prime minister in the new Cabinet was abolished in connection with the transition to the presidential system of government.

Erdogan said, speaking to reporters that Fuat Oktay, who previously headed the Disaster and Emergency Management Authority (AFAD) of the country, was appointed Turkey's Vice-President. Mevlut Cavusoglu has retained the post of foreign minister, Suleyman Soylu remained as the interior minister, Abdulhamit Gul remained as the minister of justice.

The former Chief of the General Staff, Hulusi Akar has been appointed as the minister of defense, and Berat Albayrak, who previously headed the country's Ministry of Energy has been appointed as the minister of finance and treasury. Fatih Donmez has been appointed as the minister of energy and natural resources, Ruhsar Pekcan was appointed as the minister of trade.

The inauguration of President Erdogan took place on July 9.

The ceremony was attended by 22 heads of state, prime ministers and speakers of parliaments of 28 countries, as well as heads of six international organizations.

On July 4, the Supreme Electoral Council of Turkey (YSK) announced the final results of the parliamentary and presidential elections, which took place on June 24.

Recep Tayyip Erdogan gained 52.59 percent of the votes in the presidential election, according to the YSK.

Muharrem Ince from the Republican People’s Party (CHP) gained 30.64 percent of the votes, Meral Aksener from the Good Party (Iyi Parti) - 7.29 percent, Selahattin Demirtas from the People’s Democratic Party (HDP) – 8.4 percent, Temel Karamollaoglu from the Felicity Party (Saadet Partisi) - 0.89 percent and Dogu Perincek from the Patriotic Party (Vatan Partisi) - 0.2 percent.

As for the parliamentary election, the political bloc of Justice and Development Party gained 42.56 percent, Nationalist Movement Party (MHP) - 11.1 percent of the votes, Republican People's Party – 22.65 percent, Iyi Parti – 9.96 percent, Democratic People's Party – 11.70 percent, Saadet Partisi – 1.23 percent and Vatan Partisi – 0.23 percent of votes.

Thus, the Justice and Development Party will be represented in the country's parliament by 295 MPs, Nationalist Movement Party by 49 MPs, Republican People’s Party by 146 MPs, Iyi Parti by 43 MPs and People’s Democratic Party by 67 MPs.

Saadet Partisi and Vatan Partisi will not be represented in the parliament of the country.


Print version

Views: 524

Connect with us. Get latest news and updates.

Recommend news to friend

  • Your name:
  • Your e-mail:
  • Friend's name:
  • Friend's e-mail: