TODAY.AZ / Sports

Women’s EuroVolley kicks off

22 September 2017 [13:47] - TODAY.AZ

By Azernews

Azerbaijan and Georgia will jointly host the Final Round of the 2017 CEV Volleyball European Championship.

The teams of the two host countries will open the program of the 2017 Women’s EuroVolley on September 22 when they take on Hungary and Italy in Baku and Tbilisi, respectively.

A Group C game of the current European champion team of Russia with the Ukrainian team at the National Gymnastics Arena will also be held on September 22.

After the game, the solemn opening ceremony of the European Volleyball Championship will be held.

The Championship will last for 10 days. The competition – which coincides with the most high-profile Volleyball event ever organized in these countries – will continue through to October 1 when the new European champions are set to be crowned at the iconic National Gymnastics Arena in Baku.

Sixteen best teams of the Old World, divided into 4 groups will participate in the competition. Teams of Azerbaijan, Germany, Poland and Hungary will compete in the Group A, while the teams of Georgia, Italy, Belarus and Croatia – in the Group B, Russia, Ukraine, Turkey and Bulgaria – in the Group C, and Serbia, Czech Republic, Netherlands and Belgium – in the Group D.

The games will be held in Baku (National Gymnastics Arena, Groups A and C), Goygol (Olympic Sports Complex, Group D) and Tbilisi (Sports Palace, Group B).


Print version

Views: 2199

Connect with us. Get latest news and updates.

Recommend news to friend

  • Your name:
  • Your e-mail:
  • Friend's name:
  • Friend's e-mail: