TODAY.AZ / World news

Georgia to open thirteen new diplomatic missions in 2010

06 April 2010 [17:02] - TODAY.AZ
In 2010, Georgia will open its diplomatic missions in 13 countries, Georgian Deputy Foreign Minister Nino Kalandadze said.
"Despite the fact that the countries such as Sweden and the Baltic states have reduced their diplomatic missions in the context of the world crisis due to financial trouble, the Georgian Government decided to expand our corps in the world," she said.

Deputy Minister considers Georgia's presence in the world and protection of its interests there important. "We will be able to maintain at least one diplomat in each of these countries at the expense of the Foreign Ministry's budget, and this will help to cover the country from neighboring diplomatic missions" - she said.

Thus, Georgian Foreign Ministry intends to cover such countries as Brazil, Canada, Serbia, Croatia, Norway, South Korea, Slovenia, Ireland, Mexico, Portugal, South Africa, Finland and Albania.


Print version

Views: 1749

Connect with us. Get latest news and updates.

Recommend news to friend

  • Your name:
  • Your e-mail:
  • Friend's name:
  • Friend's e-mail: